Former Clergy

Incumbents of Rutherglen Parish Church.
The board is displayed near the church entrance.

For approximately the first 500 years of its existence as a place of worship the church at Rutherglen adhered to the Celtic tradition. Thereafter, until the Reformation in 1560, it constituted the Roman Catholic Parish of St Mary. During the reign of Mary, Queen of Scots, and the minority of her son, King James VI, Scotland was a turbulent land so records are sketchy for the period 1560-1586. However, since the Incumbents’ Board was installed a reference has been found in the Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae to Thomas Jack who was Minister at Rutherglen from 1567 to “before 1574”. The table below lists each Minister since 1586 named on our incumbents’ board and the date of his induction.

 DateMinister  Date Minister
1586     James Muirhead 1806     John Dick
1592     Alexander Rowatt 1834     Peter Brown
1596     Archibald Glen 1862     William F Stevenson
1604     William Hamilton 1909     George S Yuille
1647     Robert Young 1929     W Newman James
1650     John Dickson 1935     Thomas Cook
1662     Hugh Blair 1947     James Wotherspoon
1701     Alexander Muir 1967     Robert G MacRobert
1719     Alexander Maxwell 1985     Alexander Thomson
1742     William Maxwell 2017     Malcolm MacLeod
1780     James Forlong  2021   Jean de Villiers
%d bloggers like this: